## CONNECTICUT RIVER WATERSHED COUNCIL, INC.

#### **MINUTES**

Board of Trustees Annual Meeting Sunday, July 21, 2013 2:00 – 4:30 Pioneer Valley Riverfront Club Springfield, MA

 ATTENDING: <u>Trustees</u>: Jim Okun, John Sinton, Lora Wondolowski, Hooker Talcott, Brewster Sturtevant, Raul deBrigard, Ed Gray. <u>Honorary</u>: Astrid Hanzalek <u>Staff</u>: Andrew Fisk, Dana Gillette, Angela Mrozinski, Andrea Donlon, David Deen, Jacqueline Talbot, Marion Griswold, Ron Rhodes, and Peg Brownell <u>Absent</u>: Caprice Shaw, Liz Austin, Tim Keeney, Dave Hewitt

The Annual meeting was preceded by a series of field trips and activities, including a paddle from Holyoke to Springfield hosted by Holyoke Rows, a Springfield area paddle, and learn-torow opportunity provided by the Pioneer Valley Riverfront Club. The meeting was held jointly with representatives of three area rowing programs, Northampton Community Rowing, Holyoke Rows, and Pioneer Valley Riverfront Club.

There were two items of business beyond the program which featured several speakers outlining the successes achieved by the municipalities in reducing combined sewer overflows in western MA. Speakers from each of the rowing organizations, the City of Holyoke and the Council outlined these successes and what they meant to the public.

The agenda items were the awarding of the Bud Foster Award and election of new trustees and officers.

# BUD FOSTER AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING DEVOTION, SERVICE, AND ACCOMPLISHMENT

This year the award was presented to Stephanie Moore, the founder of Holyoke Rows for her work in creating a vibrant community organization that has helped a wide range of people experience the river from rowing and paddling craft. The award was presented in absentia as a regatta was rescheduled to coincide with the Annual meeting date.

Andy Fisk presented the award to Stephanie in person in September at the annual Paper City Regatta.

### **ELECTION OF TRUSTEES & NEW OFFICERS**

Jim Okun thanked the 3 outgoing board members – Ed Gray, Christine LeBel, and Sue Merrow – for their long and generous service to the organization. Each board member was given a token of thanks from the Board and staff.

## CONNECTICUT RIVER WATERSHED COUNCIL, INC.

Lora Wondolowski and Dave Hewitt were elected to the Board by the assembled membership. Following the Annual Meeting the newly constituted board briefly assembled and voted in the following officers:

- Jim Okun, Chair
- John Sinton, Vice-chair (MA)
- Bob Moore, Vice-chair (CT)
- Hooker Talcott, Vice-chair (NH/VT)
- Robert Costello, Secretary
- Raul deBrigard, Treasurer

Prepared by: Andrew Fisk